Week one fixture released for the rebellious 2022 VFLW Finals Series

THE AFL has confirmed that the match for week one of the 2022 Rebel VFLW Finals Series will be as follows:

Saturday 11 June
Qualification Final, Essendon (1st) v Hawthorn (2nd) on Windy Hill, 11:05am AEST
Second elimination final, Geelong (4th) v Southern Saints (5th) at Deakin Uni Waurn Ponds, 1:05 PM AEST

Sunday 12 June
First elimination final, Casey Demons (3rd) v Collingwood (6th) at Casey Fields, 11:35am AEST

Entry to all Rebel VFLW finals is free.

All matches in the first through third weeks of the 2022 VFLW Finals Series will be broadcast live and free on AFL.com.au and the official AFL Live app.

The AFL is pleased to confirm that the 2022 VFLW Grand Final will be broadcast live on Seven Network, with the match set to be played at Port Melbourne’s ETU Stadium on Sunday 3rd July.

Jennie Loughnan, the AFL’s Head of State League competitions, said the 2022 VFLW Finals Series would showcase the highest standard of women’s state league football in Victoria.

“After an entertaining home and away season, we are eagerly looking forward to the 2022 Rebel VFLW Finals Series,” said Loughnan.

“As the state’s premier women’s soccer league, the rebellious VFLW league continues to showcase the state’s best soccer talent. This is highlighted by the number of players recently signed to AFLW clubs for the upcoming season.

“We’re excited to bring the Rebellious VFLW competition to more people in 2022 by streaming every game live for free and we’re excited to have all the finals streamed on the AFL platform and the Grand Final broadcast on the Seven Network .

“The increased exposure of the rebellious VFLW competition throughout the 2022 season has been a great asset to the clubs, players and fans.

“On behalf of the AFL, I would like to thank all clubs, players, umpires, venues and our broadcast and commercial partners for their tremendous support of the rebellious VFLW competition and I wish all players and clubs the best of luck leading up to the Finals Series. †

The Rebels’ VFLW 2022 season featured a 14-round home-away match followed by a pre-final bye. Six teams will compete in the four-week final series, culminating in the Rebel VFLW Grand Final in 2022 on Sunday, July 3.

The last VFLW premiere was Collingwood in 2019, with the 2020 season being canceled and the 2021 season being canceled before the grand finale between Collingwood and Geelong could be played.

2022 Rebel VFLW Finals Series Structure

Week Two – Semifinals

First Semi-Final: Loser of Qualifier v Lower-ranked winner of Elimination Final

Second Semi-Final: Winner of the Qualifiers v Higher-ranked winner of the Elimination Final

Week Three – Preliminary Final
Sunday 26 June

First Preliminary Final: Loser of Second Semifinal v Winner of First Semifinal (ETU Stadium, Time TBC)

Week Four – Grand Final
sunday july 3

Grand Final: Winner of the Second Semifinal v Winner of the Preliminary Final (ETU Stadium, Time TBC)

The higher-ranked team on the rebellious VFLW ladder at the end of the home and away seasons will play host to matches in weeks one and two of the 2022 VFLW Finals Series.

Both the preliminary and grand finals will be played at Port Melbourne’s ETU Stadium.

To qualify to play in the 2022 Rebel VFLW Finals Series:

  • Players on the VFLW list must have played one game during the home and away season
  • 2022 AFLW-listed players must have played three games during the home and away season
  • Clubs can select up to 10 AFLW players in all Finals Series matches

#Week #fixture #released #rebellious #VFLW #Finals #Series

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *