Feel-good hit Only Murders returns beautifully on TV

The new season makes the apartment building itself even more central. Its own secrets are revealed – it seems dotted with secret passageways perfect for clandestine contraband. And it’s also important as a common space where people have a long shared history. That’s why Bunny might have had an erotic painting of Charles’ father.

Needless to say, Only killing remains catnip for fans of Martin and Short, and a rare kind of cross-generational connection. It is awesome.

Magpie murders
britbox

Lesley Manville and Tim McMullan in <i>Magpie Murders</i>a whodunit-in-a-whodunit based on the novel by Anthony Horowitz.” loading=”lazy” src=”https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.663%2C$multiply_0.4431%2C $ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$x_209%2C$y_93/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/314e398cdb10815f8c5aeb87a33cba104f9f8318″ height=”224″ width=”335″ srcset=”https://static.ffx.io/images $zoom_0.663%2C$multiply_0.4431%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$x_209%2C$y_93/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/314e398cdb10815f8c5aeb87a33cba104f9f8318.io/imageffx/$ zoom_0.663%2C$multiply_0.8862%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$x_209%2C$y_93/t_crop_custom/q_62%2Cf_auto/314e398cdb10815f8c5aeb87a33cba104f9f8318 2x”/></picture></div><figcaption class=

Lesley Manville and Tim McMullan in Magpie murdersa whodunit-in-a-whodunit based on the novel by Anthony Horowitz.Credit:britbox

Lesley Manville is perfect in this handsome and beautifully crafted whodunit-in-a-whodunit, based on the novel by Anthony Horowitz.

Manville is Susan Ryeland, a book editor at a London publishing house whose future hinges on an upcoming murder mystery by bestselling author Alan Conway (Game of Thrones‘Conleth Hill). When the manuscript appears minus the all-important final chapter and Conway is found dead, Susan goes to his estate and becomes an amateur sleuth to solve both mysteries.

The twist: The very obnoxious Conway based the characters in the book on people in his life — all of whom might have wanted him dead. So things take place in parallel in fiction and in real life. Those who play different versions of their characters in the two worlds include the reliably brilliant Daniel Mays as a less-than-brilliant police detective with a mouthful of Suffolk accent.

Oscar-nominated director Peter Cattaneo (The full Monty) handles the complex set-up with style and confidence, and the script allows Manville to build a three-dimensional character who cares outside of the central plot. Brilliant.

Father of the Bride
Binge, Foxtel On Demand

Andy Garcia and Adria Arjona in the remake of <i>Father Of The Bride.” loading=”lazy” src=”https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.335%2C$multiply_0.4431%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$x_765 %2C$y_175/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/4ccdca08f77ad4a3d466adfaa1f764fec19af537″ height=”224″ width=”335″ srcset=”https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.335%2C$multiply_0.4431%2C $ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$x_765%2C$y_175/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/4ccdca08f77ad4a3d466adfaa1f764fec19af537, https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.335%$0.86$2%2C ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$x_765%2C$y_175/t_crop_custom/q_62%2Cf_auto/4ccdca08f77ad4a3d466adfaa1f764fec19af537 2x”/></picture></div><figcaption class=

Andy Garcia and Adria Arjona in the remake of Father of the Bride.Credit:HBO Max/Binge

The Prospect Of Andy Garcia And Gloria Estefan In A Cuban Flavor Remake Of Miami Father of the Bride is an intriguing one. Unfortunately, this new movie removes everything that made the 1991 Steve Martin (Disney+) version so special. There’s no story, so there’s little insight into Garcia’s character’s inner life, and an ill-conceived divorce subplot leaves him more preoccupied with his wife (Estefan) than his soon-to-be married daughter (Adria Arjona). Saturday Night Live‘s Chloe Fineman can add little as a bossy wedding planner.

Below Deck Below Below
hayu

There’s hardly a ripple of drama as this reality series brings together a very telegenic young crew to pilot a luxury charter yacht that takes wealthy people around the Great Barrier Reef. Perhaps the calm comes from the top – Australian skipper Jason seems to be a particularly down-to-earth type. But because some crew members lack the necessary work ethic, there is potential for conflict, and spiky American chef Ryan seems likely to make the galley a focal point. His philosophy: don’t give the guests a choice; just give them something they can Instagram.

Revealed: no mercy, no regrets
Stan, from Thursday*

Serial killer Paul Charles Denyer.

In 1993, serial killer Paul Denyer murdered three young women around Frankston. He could be released on parole next year. This compelling documentary by The ageVeteran crime reporter John Silvester will increase pressure on the state government to enact laws to keep him in prison. The documentary is all the more powerful for avoiding sensationalism, as the detectives involved remember the urgency of the investigation, and because the police video shows the chilling nonchalance with which Denyer described the details of his crimes.

The Gospel According to André
DocPlay

Fashion writer Andre Leon Talley is the subject of this documentary.

Fashion writer Andre Leon Talley is the subject of this documentary.Credit:AP/Evan Agostinic

Some people knew Andre Leon Talley as one of Andy Warhol’s old folks. Some knew him as that kaftan-wearing judge from… America’s next top model† Some even knew him for decades as a writer and editor at some of the world’s largest and most influential magazines. The most interesting aspect of this slightly over-length documentary is that Talley and countless old friends remind him of growing up in the segregated South before embarking on a highly unlikely career in New York. Well worth a look.

* Stan is owned by Nine, the owner of this masthead.

Discover the following TV series, streaming series and movies to add to your must-sees. Download the watchlist delivered every Thursday.

#Feelgood #hit #Murders #returns #beautifully

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *