Top Dee extends Coaches’ Association vote lead but former skipper shines brightest

Clayton Oliver is now 11 votes clear in the lead of the AFL Coaches’ Association Champion Player of the Year award.

The midfielder was at his best in Melbourne‘s demolition work of fellow candidates for the premiership Brisbanecollecting 35 sales to pick up five votes from Simon Goodwin and Chris Fagan, bringing his total to 76 votes for the year.

In the video above: 7NEWS reporter Mitch Cleary’s update on Patrick Dangerfield

Watch the latest sport on Channel 7 or stream for free 7plus

None of the immediate pack behind Oliver, comprising Lachie Neale (65 votes), Andrew Brayshaw (65) and Patrick Cripps (59) from Brisbane, got votes on lap 15, allowing the Dees star to skip a big lead.

But it was Oliver’s former skipper who did the most damage in the eyes of the coaches last Thursday night, as Jack Viney bagged the perfect 10 for his 34 disposal, seven tackle efforts as a stand-in skipper in the absence of Max Gawn.

Goodwin and Fagan weren’t the only coaching counterparts to come face to face, as six of the nine coaching pairs agreed on the best player on site.

Western Bulldogs’ Tom Liberatore, Carlton’s Sam Walsh, Sydney’s Jake Lloyd, Adelaide’s Taylor Walker and Port Adelaide’s Connor Rozee all scored perfect tens.

Walsh and Rozee – who have often been compared to each other since being drafted into a few picks from each other in 2018 – both rocketed up the standings to find themselves in the top 10.

Walsh climbs to 10th place with 45 votes, while Rozee ranks among the absolute elite of the competition in eighth place, trailing only Jeremy Cameron, Christian Petracca, Touk Miller and the aforementioned Cripps, Brayshaw, Neale and Oliver.

Jack Viney dominated against Brisbane on Thursday night. Credit: Getty

View all votes from round 15 below.

Melbourne v Brisbane

10 Jack Viney (MELB)

8 Jake Lever (MELB)

5 Christian Petracca (MELB)

5 Clayton Oliver (MELB)

1 James Jordon (MELB)

1 Luke Jackson (MELB)

Western Bulldogs vs Hawthorn

10 Tom Liberatore (WB)

7 Rhylee West (WB)

4 Jack Scrimshaw (HAW)

4 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)

3 Aaron Naughton (WB)

1 Mitch Lewis (HAW)

1 Josh Dunkley (WB)

West Coast v Essendon

8 Peter Wright (ESS)

8 Josh J Kennedy (WCE)

5 Jack Darling (WCE)

3 Willie Rioli (WCE)

2 Freemason Redman (ESS)

2 Liam Ryan (WCE)

1 Elliot Yeo (WCE)

1 Dylan Shiel (ESS)

Carlton v Fremantle

10 Sam Walsh (CARL)

5 Zac Fisher (CARL)

4 Tom the King (CARL)

4 Sam Docherty (CARL)

3 George Hewett (CARL)

2 Matthew Kennedy (CARL)

2 Adam Saad (CARL)

Geelong v Richmond

9 Liam Baker (EMPIRE)

6 Tyson Stengle (YELLOW)

5 Mark Blicavs (YELLOW)

4 Tom Stewart (YELLOW)

2 Cameron Guthrie (YELLOW)

2 Tom J Lynch (EMPIRE)

1 Zach Tuohy (YELLOW)

1 Jeremy Cameron (YELLOW)

Sydney v St Kilda

10 Jake Lloyd (SYD)

7 Oliver Florent (SYD)

7 Nick Blakey (SYD)

2 Tom Papley (SYD)

2 Paddy McCartin (SYD)

1 Tom McCartin (SYD)

1 Dylan Stephens (SYD)

North Melbourne v Adelaide

10 Taylor Walker (ADEL)

8 Darcy Fogarty (ADEL)

6 Rory Laird (ADEL)

3 Jordan Dawson (ADEL)

2 Ben Keays (ADEL)

1 James Rowe (ADEL)

Collingwood v Greater Western Sydney

9 Darcy Cameron (COLL)

8 Steele side bottom (COLL)

6 Brayden Maynard (COLL)

4 Stephen Coniglio (GWS)

2 Taylor Adams (COLL)

1 Jesse Hogan (GWS)

Port Adelaide v Gold Coast

10 Connor Rozee (GATE)

8 Touk Miller (GCFC)

6 Todd Marshall (PORT)

3 Dan Houston (PORT)

2 Jarrod Witts (GCFC)

1 Mitchell Georgiades (PORT)


76 Clayton Oliver (MELB)

65 Lachie Neale (BL)

64 Andrew Brayshaw (FRE)

59 Patrick Cripps (CARL)

58 Touk Miller (GCFC)

55 Christian Petracca (MELB)

53 Jeremy Cameron (YELLOW)

49 Connor Rozee (GATE)

48 Callum Mills (SYD)

45 Sam Walsh (CARL)

44 James Sicily (HAW)

43 Bailey Smith (WB)

42 Jack Crisp (COLL)

41 Sam Docherty (CARL)

41 Hugh McCluggage (BL)

41 Darcy Parish (ESS)

40 Max Gawn (MELB)

37 Charlie Curnow (CARL)

37 Taylor Walker (ADEL)

#Top #Dee #extends #Coaches #Association #vote #lead #skipper #shines #brightest

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *